Organized by Giacomo Bonanno (University of California Davis), Wiebe van der Hoek (University of Liverpool)
Pierfrancesco La Mura (Leipzig School of Management) and Arnis Vilks (Leipzig School of Management)

Johan van Benthem (University of Amsterdam), Giacomo Bonanno (University of California at Davis) , 
Vincent Hendricks (Roskilde University),  Wiebe van der Hoek (University of Liverpool), 
Pierfrancesco La Mura  (Leipzig Graduate School of Management), Wlodek Rabinowicz (Lund Univeristy), 
Hans Rott (Regensburg University), Marciano Siniscalchi (Northwestern University), 
Arnis Vilks (Leipzig Graduate School of Management).

July 16 - 18, 2004
For registration, accommodation and travel information click here: information
Leipzig Graduate School of Management, Germany
Final Program
To view the extended abstracts click here: abstracts

(Note: the last 5 minutes of each talk will be reserved for discussion)

July 16 (Friday)
 8:30 - 9:00 Regitration  
9:00 - 9:10 Opening of the conference
9:10 - 10:00
Invited talk: Werner Güth 
(Max Planck Institute, Germany)
Asymptotically convergent solutions of limit cases
(joint with Geoffrey Brennan and Hartmut Kliemt)

10:00 - 10:10  short break

10:10 - 10:40
Giacomo Sillari 
(Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
A logical framework for epistemic rationality and convention
10:40 - 11:10
Wiebe van der Hoek 
(University of Liverpool, UK)
Social laws in alternating time: effectiveness, feasibility and synthesis 
 (joint with Mark Roberts and Michael Wooldridge)

   11:10 - 11:30  coffee break 

11:30 - 12:00
Valentin Goranko 
(Rand Afrikaans University, South Africa)
 Axiomatic systems for alternating time temporal epistemic logics 
 (joint with Wojciech Jamroga and Govert van Drimmelen)
12:00 - 12:30
Sieuwert van Otterloo 
(University of Liverpool, UK)
 Axioms for game logic with preferences 
 (joint with Wiebe van der Hoek and Michael Wooldridge)

    12:30 - 2:00  lunch 

2:00 - 2:50
Invited talk: Patrick Blackburn 
(INRIA Lorraine, France)
  Hybrid Logic

2:50 - 3:00  short break

3:00 - 3:30
Martin Peterson 
(Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden)
Order-independent transformative decision rules and rival 
 representations (joint with Ove Hansson)
3:30 - 4:00
Robert van Rooy 
(University of Amsterdam and University of Bonn)
Relevance of complex sentences

   4:00 - 4:20  coffee break 

4:20 - 4:50
Katrin Schulz 
(University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
 An Epistemic Version of Circumscription and its Application 
 to Natural Language Interpretation
4:50 - 5:20
Benedikt Löwe 
(University of Bonn and University of Amsterdam)
 Non-monotone Fraenkel-Lévy labellings for asymmetric combinatorial games
5:20 - 5:50
Anton Likhodedov
(Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
 Mechanism for optimally trading off revenue and efficiency in 
 multi-unit auctions (joint with Tuomas Sandholm)

    7:00 pm reception dinner at the Leipzig New Town Hall 

  July 17  (Saturday)

 9:00 - 9:30
Nöel Laverny 
(IRIT-Université Paul Sabatier, France)
  From knowledge-based programs to graded belief-based programs 
  (joint with Jérôme Lang)
9:30 - 10:00
Jérôme Lang
(IRIT-Université Paul Sabatier, France)
  Revision and update in multiagent belief structures 
  (joint with Andreas Herzig and Pierre Marquis)

10:00 - 10:10  short break

10:10 - 10:40
Giacomo Bonanno 
(University of California at Davis, USA)
 A simple modal logic for belief revision
10:40 - 11:10
Hans van Ditmarsch
(University of Otago, New Zealand)
Dynamic epistemics for belief revision

   11:10 - 11:30  coffee break 

11:30 - 12:20
Invited talk: Robert Sugden
(University of East Anglia, UK)
  Common reasoning in games: a resolution of the paradoxes 
of "common knowledge of rationality"
12:20 - 12:50
Andrés Perea 
(Maastricht University, The Netherlands)
Minimal Belief Revision leads to Backward Induction

    12:50 - 2:15  lunch 

2:15 - 2:45 
Geir Asheim 
(University of Oslo, Norway)
 Sequential and quasi-perfect rationalizability in extensive games 
 (joint with Andrés Perea)
2:45 - 3:15 
Marc Pauly 
(IRIT-Université Paul Sabatier, France)
 Process Algebra and Subgame-Perfect Game Equivalence 

   3:15 - 3:30  coffee break 

3:30 - 4:00
PierFrancesco La Mura 
(Leipzig Graduate School of Management, Germany)
 Game-theoretic entropy (joint with Carmel Domshlak)

4:00 - 5:15 RUMP SESSION 1
(15 minutes per talk)
1. Mario Benevides (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
    Game Prolog (joint with Ricardo Ribeiro).
2. Galit Sassoon (Tel Aviv University, Israel)
    What does typicality stand for? A formal analysis of typicality as an 
    effect of the gradual learning of predicate meaning
3. Dariusz Surowik (University of Bialystok, Poland)
    Indeterministic temporal logic
4. Emil Weydert (University of Luxembourg)
    Notes from the wilderness: towards a logic of design decisions
5. Leon van der Torre (CWI, The Netherlands), 
    Decision-theoretic deliberation under bounded rationality 
    (joint with Guido Boella and Joris Hulstijn)

 5:15 - 5:20  short break

5:20 - 5:50
Xiao Luo 
(Academia Sinica, Taiwan)
 Towering over babel: worlds apart but acting together 
 (joint with Sudheer Gupta and Joseph Greenberg)


7:30 pm concert at St. Thomas Church

  July 18  (Sunday)

 9:00 - 9:50
Invited talk: Vincent Hendricks
(Roskilde University, Denmark)
  The epistemology of epistemic logic

9:50 - 10:00  short break

10:00 - 10:30
Adam Brandenburger 
(New York University, USA)
 Can hidden variables explain correlation? (joint with Amanda Friedenberg)
10:30 - 11:00
Robert Simon 
(University of Göttingen, Germany)
 Games of incomplete information, ergodic theory and the measurability of equilibria

   11:00 - 11:20  coffee break 

11:20 - 11:50
(15 minutes per talk)
1. Vincent Conitzer (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
    Computational criticisms of the revelation principle 
    (joint with Tuomas Sandholm)
2. Kenneth Presting (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
    Computability and Newcomb’s problem




    12:30 lunch 


Richard Booth (Leipzig University)
André Casajus (Leipzig University)
Vittorioemanuele Ferrante (University of Florence)
Hagen Lindstaedt (Leipzig Graduate School of Management)
Alexander Nittka (Leipzig University)
Peter Sass (Martin-Luther University Halle)
Bernhard Schwetzler (Leipzig Graduate School of Management)
Francesca Spampani (University of Siena)
Arnis Vilks ((Leipzig Graduate School of Management)
Adar Weidman (Tel Aviv University)
Harald Wiese (Leipzig University)