Value-Based Strategy: New Developments

Zoom Mini-Workshop, June 11, 2021 

Organized by Adam Brandenburger, NYU Stern, Michael Ryall, Rotman, University of Toronto, and Burkhard C. Schipper, University of California, Davis


For the past 25 years, the value-based strategy approach has produced general findings, novel insights, and empirical results on business strategy. Theoretically rooted in models of cooperative game theory, it focuses on how value creation capabilities and persuasive resources lead to value capture. This workshop brings strategy scholars together to discuss recent research developments in this line of work.  We invite everyone interested to participate. Please register here:


Registration


Zoom links will be emailed before the workshop. For any problems, send email to bcschipper@ucdavis.edu

Friday, June 11, 2021



First presentation
10:00 - 10:45 am San Francisco (GMT - 8)
1:00 - 1:45 pm New York (GMT - 5)
19:00 - 19:45 Berlin (GMT + 1)
1:00 - 1:45 am Beijing (GMT + 8) (Saturday)
3:00 - 3:45 am Melbourne (GMT + 10) (Saturday)

Joachim Henkel (Technische Universit√§t M√ľnchen), Hybrid Games: Integrating Cooperative and Non-Cooperative Interactions in Strategy Analysis



Second presentation

10:45 - 11:30 am San Francisco (GMT - 8)
1:45 am - 2:30 pm New York (GMT - 5)
19:45 - 20:30 Berlin (GMT + 1)
1:45 - 2:30 am Beijing (GMT + 8) (Saturday)
3:45 - 4:30 am Melbourne (GMT + 10) (Saturday)

Veronica Cappelli (Stanford GSB) and Olivier Chatain (HEC Paris), Generalized Bi-Form Games
 


Short Break (15 minutes)




Third presentation
11:45 am - 12:30 pm San Francisco (GMT - 8)
2:45 - 3:30 pm New York (GMT - 5)
20:45 - 21:30 Berlin (GMT + 1)
2:45 - 3:30 am Beijing (GMT + 8) (Saturday)
4:45 - 5:30 am Melbourne (GMT + 10) (Saturday)

Afonso Almeida Costa (Universidade Nova de Lisboa) and Peter Zemsky (INSEAD), The choice of value-based strategies under rivalry: Whether to enhance value creation or bargaining capabilities, Strategic Management Journal, forthcoming



Fourth presentation
12:30 - 1:15 pm San Francisco (GMT - 8)
3:30 - 4:15 pm New York (GMT - 5)
21:30 - 22:15 Berlin (GMT + 1)
3:30 - 4:15 am Beijing (GMT + 8) (Saturday)
5:30 - 6:15 am Melbourne (GMT + 10) (Saturday)

Kevin Bryan (Rotman, University of Toronto), Michael Ryall (Rotman, University of Toronto), and Burkhard C. Schipper (University of California, Davis), Value-Capture in the Face of Known and Unknown Unknowns, Strategy Science, forthcoming (Power point)



Again, please do not forget to register. Here is the link again:


Registration


Zoom links will be emailed before the workshop. Send me an email for any problems: bcschipper@ucdavis.edu